Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hi, I am new to Jira and feel a bit lost

A Zanad August 20, 2019

Hi,

We've adopted Jira software (cloud) for all our projects management and I am trying to figure out what templates / project types would suit us most.  I have Agile background and briefly used Jira back in 2015.

I've noticed that Jira software offers Next-gen project templates and initially thought to use Kanban for bug fixing issues and Scrum type projects for the rest.  When I was just about to create one of the new projects I was given an option to switch to Classic templates where I found Bug Tracking project template.

Now I am feeling lost.  Should I stick with the new Next-gen projects?  Is it quite popular with the new users?  I know that not all functionalities been added yet, but it's quite easy to setup.  

Or, for example, shall I go with the classic Bug tracking template for bug fixing?

I suppose once I have answers to the above, then I can dive in and learn the specific template.

Thank you and any help would be appreciated. 

2 comments

Comment

Erica Moss
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 20, 2019

@A Zanad Hello! We have lots of folks who can help — I'm going to move your post to that collection, so you can get the best possible answers. 😄

Daniel Fietta
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 21, 2019

Hi @A Zanad,

The two types are very different. While the classic projects are still using the configurations based on shareable screens, schemes, workflows, etc., the next-gen projects have a dedicated configuration per project that the project admin can take over.