Customer database

George February 10, 2020

Hi,

I'm totally new to Atlassian, so please excuse me if I'm asking a totally obvious or frequently asked question: How does Jira handle customer information? Are there any best practices?

Background: We're a new/small software developer and I've been looking at using the Atlassian suite for our needs: BitBucket for Source code, Jira Software for tracking development issues, features & releases, Jira Service Desk as a helpdesk for customer facing issues. I'd hoped that Jira Service Desk and Jira Core would share the same customer database so we could use Jira Core for marketing and sales purposes.

From what I've seen so far, it looks like Service Desk and Core projects have independent lists of customers and customer info is limited to just an email address. I was hoping to keep a record of sales info e.g. subscription ID, expiry date etc.

Am I barking up the wrong tree with my expectations, or have I missed something obvious?

1 comment

Comment

Max Foerster - K15t
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 10, 2020

Hi George and welcome to the community! You're not barking up the wrong tree at all! What you're trying to achieve is perfectly possible with the tools, you just have to customize them according to your needs. That's their advantage: They are pretty powerful. And that's their biggest disadvantage, too. ;) 

Let me take your example about Jira Service Desk and Core. Jira Service Desk offers native support for a user type "customer". That is important for the way it works or how it provides your service of product support (or internal self-service for example).