PM Starting Over with Jira and Confluence

Starting over with JIRA and Confluence

I am an IT project manager with a background in development and working in a Supply Chain environment.  I actually started with managing projects using Excel spreadsheets, until the company moved into MS Project as the tool of choice.

In 2018, I joined a company that uses Jira and Confluence, both tools with which I was unfamiliar.  The company uses an Agile development approach for software, but also has many business projects every year working with partners and clients.  I had someone give me a 30-minute demo on Jira and Confluence and then learned via documentation (kudos to Atlassian for the sheer volume of documentation available), as well as YouTube videos and tutorials.  Since then, I’ve also been made a project administrator to design and develop projects and workflows.

Jira excels with Agile projects, as well as for issue reporting and resolution.  We use nFeed to integrate with other software to fill Jira fields, which adds further value.  My company provides software that ensures financial institutions are in compliance with all Federal and State government regulations for their documents.  Changes to regulations can impact the development sprints and backlog priorities, so flexibility in people and the software is a must.

Business as Well as IT Projects

Because we don’t just have Agile projects, I would love to see some improvement in business project management.  When I’m managing a large cross-functional project with some team members working in story points and others working in time (days/hours/durations), planning, scheduling and monitoring can become difficult.  Resource management, risk management, tracking of milestones and executive summary reports can be a challenge using the basic Jira Software.