Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Incoming emails and changing a custom field.

Mark Baker October 1, 2020

We have a large number of support tickets raised by users emailing our support email address rather than logging in. The users all have email domains that relate to their location. Ideally I would like as the email comes in for Jira to be able to look at the domain and for it to update the ticket for the custom field to match their location and subequently it would put the ticket in the right queue

i.e.

Email address incoming                           Custom field selection

john.smith@LondonHeadoffice.com      =  London 

Sam.Adams@Liverpooldirect.com        =  Liverpool 

Ryan.Mitchie@Norfolktown.com           = Norfolk

Is this possible?  I am new to Jira so I have no idea where to start.

1 answer

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Answer accepted
Lisa Förstberg
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 2, 2020

Hi and welcome to the community!

Tip one: try to get the users to go to the portal! There is so much efficiency to be realized by that. (improve  capture information and also offer them knowledgebase articles for self-service) To make the portal taste even better for the customers, consider the app refined

Tip two: I assume you use Jira Service Desk? Cloud or Server?

Ideally you would want to add the users to an organization and sort the queues by this, but I suppose that you don't want to manually enter all of those customers.

There is a feature request for connect domain with organization in server.  

A couple of ways to get around it until they released this:

1. Similar thread for a workaround using the API's here 
  2. Use Automation for Jira app (if server, this is native in Cloud). Read how to do it in this article