Setting Up Incoming Handlers

Deleted user July 9, 2019

To set scene, I am a newbie to Jira and I do not have massive amounts of experience on Email servers.  I would appreciate some help.  

Set up incoming handlers but do not appear to be receiving new tasks into the project.  As far as I can tell for this method I do not need to set up anything on our email servers. 

Set up is as follows;

Name:  Create a New Issue on Jira
Project:  I have chosen a project to receive issues
Server:  Default Cloud Server
Delay:  Will not let me alter
Handler:  Create a new issue or let me add to an issue
Project:   Same project as above
Issue type:  Story
Strip quotes:  Blank
Catch email:  Blank
Bulk:  Accept the email for processing
Forward email:  blank
Create users:  Tick
Notify:  Tick
CC Assignee:  Tick
CC Watcher:  Tick

1 answer

1 accepted

Suggest an answer

0 votes
Answer accepted
Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
July 22, 2019

Hi Emma,

It looks like you are trying to follow a guide such as Creating issues and comments from email for setting up a mail handler.   However that guide is specifically for Jira Software and Jira Core. 

Jira Service Desk has a different mechanism in order to create customer requests from email.  It has to do this because in order for the Core/Software mail handler to work in a project to process those messages, the senders email addresses have to correspond to email addresses that Jira knows about as licensed Jira users on that site.