Create
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Do I need to upgrade the CentOS operating system version as well?

Shawn Quinn September 15, 2021

I'm new to the systems admin tasks associated with my university's instance of Confluence.  I've read through the release notes, but it's not clear to me whether I need to upgrade CentOS first before doing the Confluence upgrades or whether the CentOS ' supporting OS is also included automatically in the product, such that the upgrade includes both the OS and the Confluence product along with it?

This clarification would be much appreciated.  

Thanks,

Shawn

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Robert Wen_ReleaseTEAM_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 15, 2021

According to the supported platforms page, Linux distributions and versions are pretty broad.  The only time I would see about upgrading the OS would be if you need to switch from 32-bit to 64-bit.

What is the current version of CentOS and Confluence you have now?

Shawn Quinn September 20, 2021

The Linux version is CentOS6.10 ; the confluence version is 6.15.4

We have to upgrade the operating system because of security concerns regarding the older versions of CentOS.  My institution is undecided about which version of Linux to use going forward because of the recent announcements about CentOS.  (They want to pick a new 'standard' that all of our groups would then have to use)