Jira Software - Not just for Software!!

neil walcuch July 3, 2019

Hi,

I thought I would post something to see if there are any other users/businesses out there that are using Jira Software for anything other than Software, App and Web development? I have been using Jira for around 6 years and started on version 3. now using version 8. and am absolutely delighted with the differences and power the new version brings.

My current venture is setting up a global business to use Jira Software for automated Mech/Elec/SW Engineering projects that find "deviations"/issues preventing the course of the original project progress. Having custom workflows and data capture points means that we can swiftly work through issues and "Continuously Improve" the way projects are initiated, planned and executed. Bringing Agile working to traditional V-model and waterfall projects has been hugely successful in the roll out I have worked with, improving quality, profit and efficiency.

I'd would be interested to hear from other users who have a similar application or would be interested to know more!

2 comments

Comment

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
July 3, 2019

I've seen it used for HR, Legal systems, logistical track and trace, sales, organising events and trips, and heck, even house moves and weddings! 

Like neil walcuch likes this
neil walcuch July 3, 2019

They sound like excellent use of a SW dev tool!! :D

Simon Atkin July 4, 2019

In my company we have projects and workflows for a number of areas, including

• HR for new starters and leavers, and accident book
  • Change control for submissions to Change Board and approval workflow
  • Continual Improvement Register (for ISO standard compliance)
  • Incident reporting, RCA and remedial logging
  • and some others I can't remember right now