Career shift #3 - only 2 more to go.

Jill October 9, 2019

According to the UK's Financial Times you need to plan for 5 careers in your lifetime. I'm not sure I'll rack up that many, but I've already worked in customer service for 4 years, where at my worst point working in a call centre, I was shouted at around 330 times a week and in my second career I worked full time as a software tester. Whilst I found an uncanny natural affinity for that role and saw a distinct career in it, that permanent relationship wasn't really a good fit for me, as it wasn't taking me where I really wanted to go. So I set up my own business and went freelance, a move that allowed me to drive my training and the testing services I provided in a direction that gave me drive and purpose. I've learned so much during this time and overall it's been such a positive experience. 

Now I find myself at the career junction for a third time after hitting what I can only describe as a technical T-junction and not liking the view whether I looked left or right. To become a pure technical tester or head down the road of management once more, neither of which really appeal, because whichever I choose I feel that the things I once loved about my job have been squeezed out by the direction the industry is taking and to be honest that makes me more than a little sad. After having mooched about on the internet trying to find a few pearls of wisdom I came across a blog in which the author said the right career is one in which you "lose yourself" and that's when the metaphorical light bulb lit up for me.