why are there active and future sprints for the same sprint

Nicola Barton April 28, 2015

I'm pretty new to JIRA and am using Agile. I'm getting a confusing range of options available when I try to add an issue to an epic.  In the image shown below, there three 'Sprint 1' options, along with Sprint 2 and 4 showing as active. There are only 2 sprints in this project so it doesn't make sense to me. Is this a bug, or am I misunderstanding something.

Screen Shot 2015-04-28 at 20.21.54.png

3 answers

0 votes
Melanie Arabsky Ledger August 11, 2015

I am just getting started with agile in Jira, and I have an active sprint (Sprint 1) and future Sprints (2,3, etc.)

When creating new JIRA items, I found I could assign them to Sprint 1 (active), Sprint 1 (future), Sprint 2 (future), Sprint 3 (future)..... don't know why it has a "future" version of Sprint 1, and its annoying/distracting to have in the list.

As a workaround, I assigned a task to it, then when to the my board where it showed a new Sprint 1 that wasn't started, below the tasks already in the Sprint 1 which was active. I moved the task from the "not started" Sprint 1 to the "active" Sprint 1, which left me with an empty Sprint 1 (not started) on my board. I deleted the Sprint using the board functionality, and now when I add a new task, I am no longer presented with Sprint 1 (future), just the active Sprint 1. Yay!

Don't know why I need to do this, but it seems to work. Maybe Sprint 1 (future) is designed for things you are thinking of adding the current active sprint but haven't committed to doing so yet. Don't know. But this is the only way I could find to delete if you its unneeded and distracting.

0 votes
Luciano Fagundes
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 29, 2015

Nicola,