to move a subtask to another story / copy subtask without bulk move.

Juno KWaan May 12, 2015

Hi, I am a beginner to JIRA. 

Now I have faced a trouble, I set a story and some subtasks, but I should divide this story into 2 or 3. and existing subtasks are should re-grouped. 

I can add new stories, (not divide in system), but how can I move a subtasks to new story? 

Please give me directions, 

Thanks. 

3 answers

5 votes
Marion Rosner May 12, 2015

Open up the subtask that you want to move, and click on "More" in the buttons at the top, then "Move". You can either change the issue type or change the parent. Choose "Change the parent" and click the button to continue. You then need to know the number of the new parent to which to move this subtask. You'll need to enter it in the format PROJ-xxxx where PROJ is the project ID and xxxx is the issue number of the parent. Just follow the prompts and you should be fine. It's not immediately obvious where this is, so I understand your frustration.

Good luck, and please let me know if this helps.

Wayne Erfling September 25, 2017

What did Marion mean by "buttons at the top" ???

Does this mean the "ellipsis" drop-down "button" ???

Also, is there a "move sub-task within user story" permission that is needed to make this work. 

Either the "ellipsis" button is not the "More" mentioned, or I am lacking an unknown permission.

Thanks!

Like # people like this
Greg Whitaker November 19, 2019

Worked like a charm, thank you!

Like Tanvir Roushan likes this
shahmatwu February 17, 2020

This only worked for me when I discovered that the items in the autocomplete dropdown list are not selectable because they're just not -- and not because you're trying to click on an invalid parent. As @Marion Rosner wrote, type the issue ID in the form "PROJ-xxxx". After that, click Next.