task not visible on active sprint board

Bryan Collick September 23, 2015

Hi all, I've a bit of a head-scratcher here. I'm a project manager of three teams using v6.2, looking at an agile board. Each team has their own board, based on unique queries of the same project. Help was needed from team one, so team two created a ticket and added the correct component to appear on team one's board. I looked at the ticket directly, saw nothing unusual, added it to sprint and assigned it to an engineer on team one. The engineer received notification and started working, but it never showed up on the in the active sprint board. It is visible in in sprint in the "backlog" view. it is visible in the "reports" view. But in the "active sprint" view (which is reached by pressing "2") it does not appear. 

What could I be overlooking that would allow a task to be visible in only two of the three views of JIRA agile?

-B

4 answers

8 votes
Catherine Tsokur April 26, 2019

I have had the same issue, but the re-indexing feature is not available anymore. What I have found out however, helped me to resolve it in my case.

I had a scrum board with a filter on multiple projects + certain label. I had swimlanes by Epic on this board. Some tasks were not shown on the active sprint board, though they were in the sprint (they appeared on the backlog in an active sprint). Even in the board settings in column mapping section the count of the issues per column was not the same, as was actually shown on the board.

I have figured out, that removing swimlines results into showing all my lost tickets.

Why?  Apparently, some epics were not filtered by the board filter - they were either from different projects, or didn't have required label. As a result - those epics did not show on the board as a swimlines, together with any tasks that belonged to them.

That was my issue, hope it can be helpful for others!

Kathy Barton
Rising Star
Rising Star