scrum board by filter not showing in the project to which it's shared

Kristin Bitler February 18, 2016

3.png4.png2.png1.pngI'm creating scrum boards for projects via a filter (since the by project doesn't show what managers would like to see) however, the board doesn't remain under the project name even though 1) the filter is shared with the project and 2) the board is created via the project as follows:

Steps: "Create board" under the project name, create an Agile board "Board from an existing Saved Filter", name board, chose filter (attached), click Create (where I'm asked to leave the current page, which I do the action hangs up) where I'm directed to the board that I've created but it doesn't remain in the project to which I've shared it. I'm a full administrator. In the past, I've shared boards with different projects and can view them in the dropdown of boards available to that project. For some reason, it's now not working.

1 answer

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 18, 2016

Boards do not belong to projects.  A board might include issues from a project, but that's the only link between them.  The dropdowns list boards that the user can see, not boards available by project.

Is there a reason why via the project an admin can create a board with and existing filter? For that matter, why have the option to share a board with a project if it can't be viewed from within that project? It makes no sense to be able to create a board that includes multiple projects, to be viewed via the multiple projects, if as you stated boards do not belong to projects. If this is the case, maybe there shouldn't be a board view within projects. Additionally, I've made the boards available for users to see but they still don't see them via the project dropdown.