"Error in the JQL Query: Expecting either 'OR' or 'AND' but got ','

Anuja Lad November 30, 2017

Hi! I am newbie here!
I am trying to get issues by passing some parameters using JQL.
First, I am building normal string for jql 

e.g jqlExpr:::::::: project=Jira&fields=id,key,project,assignee,description,summary,status,priority,reporter,created,updated,issuetype,subtasks&maxResults=-1&assignee=abc

After encoding it with java method : #[java.net.URLEncoder.encode(flowVars.jqlExpr)]

also  i am setting the encoding as 'ISO 10646/Unicode(UTF-8)'
I am passing it the request call as: 

https://<host>/rest/api/2/search?jql=project%3DJira%26fields%3Did%2Ckey%2Cproject%2Cassignee%2Cdescription%2Csummary%2Cstatus%2Cpriority%2Creporter%2Ccreated%2Cupdated%2Cissuetype%2Csubtasks%26maxResults%3D-1%26assignee%3Dabc

Error message i am getting :
Error: {
"errorMessages": [
"Error in the JQL Query: Expecting either 'OR' or 'AND' but got ','. (line 1, character 21)"
],
"errors": {}
}

I am not able to understand what's going wrong and how can I resolve?

I appreciate your response.Thanks! 

2 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Warren
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
November 30, 2017

Hi Anuja

assignee=abc is part of the jql, but you've got it as a parameter being passed to the API. Try

jql=project=Jira AND assignee=abc&fields=id,key,project,assignee,description,summary,status,priority,reporter,created,updated,issuetype,subtasks&maxResults=-1

If you still get an error, try copying just the JQL bit (i.e. everything after jql= up to and excluding the first &) into a Jira query and see if there are any errors

Hello Warren,

Thanks a lot! 
the best answer! it  did not only just resolve the error but also helpful in a way to connect the dots here.