how to join agile board and related tickets in JIRA database

Brian Hayden August 27, 2014

Hi,

I am new to JIRA. I would like to be able to list all boards available along with the tickets in each of them. I have already checked JIRA database. There is a table called JIRAISSUE which contains all the tickets and AO_60DB71_RAPIDVIEW table which has all the boards in this. That's the final stage I have got so far. Any idea how can I actually join them by writing an SQL query, if possible? JIRA database is quite complicated, what I am looking to find out is, if there is a table which contains references to both tables because JIRAISSUE and RAPIDVIEW tables have no direct interactions.Ultimately, I need to find out what field can I use in order to get the result I need. I have checking all tables/fields and also not sure how the database structure is.

If there are any other suggestions, Thanks in advance.

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 27, 2014

There is no direct relationship.

A board works off a JQL query. You'd need to find and replicate that query in SQL to be able to say "this issue is on this board". In other words, read the Board table to find out what the filter is. Look that up in "searchrequest", read the query in there, converting each clause and join into it's SQL equivalent, and execute that.

Bear in mind if someone is being "clever" with a filter and using ANY functions, you need to code for them as well. You'll need to write SQL translations for the 18ish system fields, something to handle the 12ish custom field types (plus any field types created by any plugin you happen to install) and the 35 or so JQL functions (and again, any added by other plugins)