delete subtask in JIRA

Prakhar November 11, 2016

Hello All ,

I am new to JIRA ,

Is there any way to delete subtask in JIRA using json script.

like we do for updating a customfield.

{"fields":
{"customfield_XXXX": "ABC"}
}

Can a similar script be written to delete subtasks ?

Please help.

Thanks,

Prakhar

1 answer

1 accepted

Comments for this post are closed

Community moderators have prevented the ability to post new answers.

Post a new question

1 vote
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 11, 2016

Subtasks are issues in their own right, and hence have the same interface as issues.  See https://docs.atlassian.com/jira/REST/cloud/#api/2/issue-deleteIssue

But don't. 

Deleted issues are entirely destroyed.  There's no recovery without going back to a backup.  If you allow delete in general, you will quite quickly find your users coming to you to ask for restoration of stuff they deleted accidentally.  That way lies hell.

Prakhar November 11, 2016

ok.thanks , So it means that we have to deleted subtasks manually from frontend.?

Thanks,

Prakhar

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
November 11, 2016

Please re-read the answer.

Jungle Boi January 17, 2017

@Nic Brough [Adaptavist], I know what you mean but, to be precise, subtasks, by definition, are not equal to issues (subtasks cannot carry subordinate tasks).  More to the point, if a user can create a subtask, the user should be able to delete his own subtask, IMO.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
January 17, 2017

No, you have not understood the answer, and you're making incorrect assumptions.