can i limit visibility of jira projects to certain groups ?

Adrien Bret January 14, 2015

Hi 

I have 3 projects on JIRA. I want some of the users being able to see only some of the projects. I'm pretty new to JIRA and i can't find a way to do that. Is that possible ?

regards,

Adrien

3 answers

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 14, 2015

First, look at the permission scheme for the project.  The line that says "Browse project" gives you a rule for allowing people to see the project.

That rule is likely to be something like "everyone in the role of users"

So the second step is to change who matches the rue.  For the example I've just given, you go into the project roles and remove all the users and groups who should not see the project.

It's likely that the group "JIRA users" is in that role by default - you'll need to remove that, and then add back in any users or groups who should see the project.

This is rather a poor default from Atlassian I'm afraid - they default JIRA users into every project and it's a bit of a pain when you start wanting to do hidden projects.  My standard recommendation is to bin the jira-user group - never use it in permissions or roles, it should only be used to say "can log in".

SIZWE_MKHIZE March 26, 2016

Good evening.