Why can I see hidden projects on my main projects menu

Matt December 5, 2017

Hello,

I have JIRA so that some projects are hidden (once complete), using a permission scheme. However since JIRA updated, these projects are now visible on my main project page. What setting do I need to amend to remove this so I only see active, non hidden projects?

I have tried to removed all permissions on a permission scheme and I can still see them. I am an administrator for the system, but I dont want to have to scroll through all old projects to find the one I am interested in.

Cheers

2 answers

1 vote
Tarun Sapra
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 5, 2017

Hello @Matt

Currently, there is no way in JIRA to hide or Archive the project 

https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JRASERVER-2785

https://jira.atlassian.com/browse/JRASERVER-1450

The only way is to remove "read-only/ Browse project" permission from the project and that way the project is hidden from all users except the admins.

If you have admin rights then in the project list you will see all the projects. Tom improve your experience you can map each project to a proper category so that you don't have to scroll across each and every project much like what Atlassian has done on their website.

https://jira.atlassian.com/secure/BrowseProjects.jspa?selectedCategory=all&selectedProjectType=all

(category selection on the left hand side)

Tarun Sapra
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 5, 2017

Thus, you can have a category like "hidden" and other relevant categories.

Like Machiel likes this
Matt December 5, 2017

Thanks Tarun,