When I setup G Suite SAML SSO for JIRA Service Desk, what type of users are created?

Lynn Shriver November 1, 2017

When I setup G Suite SAML SSO for JIRA Service Desk, what type of users are created?

My preference would be to have users added into JIRA Service Desk as portal only users in JIRA, but I'm not finding anything that specifies this.

I'm new to this product, so if additional information is needed, please let me know.

Thank you.

Lynn

2 answers

0 votes
Lynn Shriver November 2, 2017

Thank you.  I will be making this change later today.

Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 2, 2017

You're welcome Lynn.

If you have any doubts or questions at all please let me know and I'll be happy to help.

Kind Regards,
Shannon

0 votes
Shannon S
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
November 2, 2017

Hi Lynn,

That depends on what groups and access you have selected by default for G Suite Integration. 

See Enable or disable G Suite Integration.

How to set default application access

After you enable G Suite, you can set up which applications new Google users have access to, and which groups they're placed in when the users are initially created. See Manage application access for full details.

Let us know if you have any questions about this.

Kind Regards,
Shannon

Lynn Shriver November 2, 2017

Still very new to this product, so I may be using incorrect terminology.  I asked what type of "users" would be created, but I may have needed to say "customers".

I don't want users, that are sync'd, to be added to my licensing.  They should only be able to submit service requests using the portal.

Below is what I find for my current test user, who is a portal only user for a specific project. (User Management - JIRA Service Desk - Portal Only Customers)