What is the purpose of Crowd???

Warren McInnes
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 3, 2014

Is there any purpose to Crowd apposed to the Jira User management system? What does Crowd offer that the Jira user management can't do?

Does anyone know?

4 answers

0 votes
Radu Dumitriu
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
March 6, 2014

Hi Warren,

I will try to explain you what is Crowd in the light of your other questions as well. From the start, I'm a developer, not on Atl team, but I hope I will put it in plain English.

So: Crowd is a Atlassian custom user management system. Its purpose is to provide a common auth mechanism for all Atl products (architecturally speaking: component reusing). If you install only JIRA, there's always a Crowd instance embedded into JIRA responsible for auth and user management.This local instance can delegate calls to an external instance as well, and this is how Crowd servers are used to create the SSO mechanism.

This change was introduced, if I remember well, in 4.x versions

Pros:

1. Atl products are well integrated
  2. You configure one product once, you know what to do with the rest. Plus, the config is much simplified (my opinion).

Cons:

1. Support for standard SSO out-of-the-box is missing (no SAML, Kerberos, ... although there are plugins to do that)
  2. User data is pretty much caught in the Atl paradigm (mail, username, fName, lName)

Now: