What is the best way to break a project down?

Chris December 3, 2015

I am fairly new to JIRA. I need to structure a project that consists of 4 sections. Within each section I would like to split it down into two further sections and then create the issues under either of these categories.

I was thinking of making 4 Epics. Then within each Epic I would have two Stories. But this is where I get stuck. Now when create an issue I would like to associate it with one of the 2 stories that falls under the specific Epic.

What would the best way to go about this be?

4 answers

3 votes
Fabio Racobaldo _Herzum_
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
December 3, 2015

Hello Chris,

you could use labels/components so that you can aggregate issues within a project. I suggest you the following  article http://blogs.atlassian.com/2013/11/organize-jira-issues-subcomponents/ by @Dave Meyer.

Hope this helps,

Fabio

0 votes
Chris Megson January 5, 2016

Hi,

I still can figure out what the best way to structure the project is. Basically the main project is the SOA Implementation and within that there are 4 projects: MR, CEP, PS and Legacy.

I also need to categorise a Task as either Legacy or New.

I am not sure if I should create one project or 4 projects in JIRA.

Want the best way to report across all projects.

So far I have come up with the 3 options below. What do you think is best? Or is there another better option?

Option 1

image2016-1-5 15:37:14.png

Option 2

image2016-1-5 15:37:52.png

Option 3

image2016-1-5 15:38:19.png

0 votes
Chris December 3, 2015

Thank you for the replies! Very Helpful.

Just to be clear on the structure that I require. I would like the project broken down similar to this:

Capture1.PNG

So I have found that there are perhaps 4 different ways of doing this:

1. 4 Epics > 2 Stories > Sub-Tasks