What is the best way to Move a Task or Story from one epic to another?

Marlon M November 14, 2017

I am new to JIRA and started creating Stories, assuming I would be able to create a hierarchy of Feature -> Story -> Task.

But reading the board, i realise there is no distinction between Story and Task when it comes to hierarchy.

So now i want to setup my Features as Epics and then then create Stories and Sub tasks.

Need assistance in the best way to move existing Stories/Tasks to specific Epics

6 answers

1 accepted

3 votes
Answer accepted
sidx64 May 21, 2020

@chris.orr 

Here's a step by step way:

• Open the story you want to move to a new Epic and click on Edit
  • Scroll down in the edit mode until you see the field stating "Epic Link"
  • Change the Epic Link by searching for and selecting the new Epic you want the story to move to.
  • Click save/apply
AJ (Ajit Unnithan) June 17, 2020

👍

Like sidx64 likes this
Larry Pieniazek April 6, 2021

How do you get an issue into edit mode? I think maybe something's changed about Jira... I could not determine how to edit an issue in the "new" view. However if I changed to the "old" view and hovered over the epic I got the pencil to edit it. 

Like # people like this
Ang Tzeng Huei July 21, 2021

Click on the Epic in the highlighted color will toggle into edit mode.

Like olalekan.arogun likes this
Rose Angelli Corrales February 14, 2022

No "Edit" option when I open my Story

Like # people like this
olalekan.arogun December 27, 2022

In the newer version - In the Details Pane to the right, Go to "Epic Link" Click in the Grey area after the Highlighted Epic name. You can unlink by deleting the name or link to another epic by looking it up in the search bar.

Like # people like this
Clark Varner August 31, 2023

Thanks, this was VERY helpful to know about the new location.

1 vote
Matthias Gaiser _K15t_
Community Leader
Community Leader