What does the numbers (2) in workflow imply?

Akhil_vs August 31, 2015

Hi everyone, I am new to jira please help me with this issue. After creating a project and an issue, while viewing the issue it is showing in progress(2), to do (2). What does those numbers (2) imply and how to remove it?

5 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nick August 31, 2015

The number for status and transition is an identifier. The reason is that there may be several transitions, for example, that have the same name but are used in different workflows.

When you see a selection list with multiple transitions with the same name it helps you to choose the correct one by id.

You cannot remove and should not remove them. They are there for a good reason.

Akhil_vs August 31, 2015

is there any way to hide it?

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
August 31, 2015

No. But only administrators see them, and we find them useful.

Like Kat Lim likes this
Akhil_vs September 2, 2015

ok i completely agree with you, but what i am trying to say is that this id must be a system generated id and as you said i cannot and shouldnt be removed. But what in issue panel, in workflow section it is showing in progress (2)? What does (2) imply and how to remove it?

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 2, 2015

That suggests your admins have used (2) in the name

ok Nic , I am running Jira as admin and I am in a learning phase so I am going through this scenario and I am stuck here. So any idea on how to remove it? or what may be the cause for it?