Video tutorial for JIRA?

Chau March 16, 2017

Hello, i'm new to JIRA and seems to get lost in here.

Say if I want to do something simple, when user approve an issue, and the state is changed, I want to do some post action. Webhook? or Custom Post Script? Either one, is there a tutorial to "how to"?

Similar, we want to create a custom field in a custom tab, can we do so? How do we update that field from REST API? Seem too many links in here but I"m get lost. 

Can some one show me some detail tutorial ???

Thx

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
March 16, 2017

JIRA is very powerful and flexible - the price of that is it becomes complex to look after and configure all those clever things.

>when user approve an issue, and the state is changed, I want to do some post action.
I wish more people think the way you do.  It sounds like you have tried to read the docs, and mostly understood them, but you are not totally sure you have understood them.

You say "post action", which is very clear.  Someone does something to an issue that makes the status change and you want that to do something else. Yes, you want to add a "post function" or a "web hook" to that transition.  A web hook allows you to poke another system (e.g. "I closed this issue, poke the fridge to give me a beer as a reward").  Post-functions are more aimed at internal actions ("I closed this issue, go put a flag on issues linked to it"), but can do external calls, and all sorts of stuff if you need it to, and you are happy to code.

>create a custom field in a custom tab
Have a look at https://confluence.atlassian.com/jira064/configuring-fields-and-screens-720412098.html

>How do we update that field from REST API