Upgrading from Jira 4.1.1 to latest version 5.2.2

Vishal Chugh December 23, 2012

Hi,

I am new to Jira . Our organization has requested us to upgrade current Jira 4.1.1 (standalone ) to latest released version 5.2.2 .

Is it possible to upgrade directly from 4.1.1 to 5.2.2 ? Are there any complicaitons ? Should we be doing incremental upgrades from 4.1.1 till 5.2.2 ?

Can someone please advise?

Thanks,

Vishal Chugh

2 answers

1 vote
vkharisma
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
December 23, 2012

Hi Vishal,

Normally people use the incremental updates to reduce the down time during production instance upgrade. Sometime, a direct update with a big version gap can takes hours to finish. So yeap, using incremental upgrade is a good idea, you can try 4.1.1 - 4.3.4 - 5.2.2 and observe if the upgrade is running smoothly on a staging instance before upgrading your production instance.

Vishal Chugh December 25, 2012

Hi Vicky ,

Thank you so much for guidance.

I saw later that latest available Jira version is 5.2.3 .

I am sorry , i tried directly upgrade from 4.1.1 to 5.2.3 .

I tried below :

1) I copied over our Jira 4.4.1 installation directory to new test machine .

2) Took export of DB from old machine and imported to new machine's mySQL DB .

3) On test machine , restarted the Jira instance , Jira URL came up and was able to login with same credentials as with Jira on old machine and was able to see everything . So far so good.

Quesion : Is it right to do (what i did in steps 1 , 2 , 3 above) ?

4) Installed Jira 5.2.3 on this test machine , pointed Jira to this new Jira , ran config.sh , configured DB (as mentioned in https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Connecting+JIRA+to+MySQL#ConnectingJIRAtoMySQL-configurejirawithdatabase ) to point to existing imported DB on this new machine (which i imported in step 2 above )and restarted this new Jira instance .