Upgrading JIRA version 4.0.2 to latest version 6.2

Mohin Uddin February 16, 2014

Hi expert,

I would like to upgrade my jira version 4.0.2 to lastes 6.2. without losing any data because a large volume of data exists in my system and for this upgradtion which upgrade process should I need to follow.

My current Database Statistics are given below:

Issues:115286

Projects:473

Custom Fields:1277

Workflows:200

Users:2126

Groups:159

I have no experience to jira upgrade.

Could you please inform me proper guideline with any resource link?

I would greatly appreciate your help.

Thanks

Mohin

5 answers

1 vote
Tarun Sapra
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 16, 2014

Hi Mohin,

First of all take backup of your data, also if you are using lot of plugins and their customization in your JIRA then it's a very high chance that you run into compatibilty issues as JIRA 6.x has very diff. APIs and design guidelines as compared to 4.x, thus while installaing the jira 6.x choose the upgrade option and test thoroughly that all data has been migrated.

Custom fields and customized scripts(if using scrip runner) can also give some pain.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 16, 2014

Oh, and the nastiest one - have you any custom javascript? Get rid of it now if you can, but any you can't dump will need to be re-written from the ground up. (Probably on almost every upgrade or even plugin install/change, which I is why I avoid it like the plague)

1 vote
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
February 16, 2014