Upgrade from JIRA 5.0 RC2 to final?

Borek Bernard February 20, 2012

When JIRA 5.0 comes out (hopefully any "minute" now) how to perform an upgrade from 5.0 RC2? I guess there is no supported upgrade path from betas and release candidates but hopefully something simple like uninstalling / reinstalling JIRA works? I'm new to JIRA so am not sure how upgrades from RCs work.

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
lmiranda_atlassian February 21, 2012

I just had a look at the code and there are no database changes between 5.0 RC2 and 5.0, so you should have no problems with the upgrade. Just follow the instructions in http://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Upgrading+JIRA.

JIRA 5.0 was released a few hours ago, so why not download it and find out?

Borek Bernard February 21, 2012

Great, thanks, will try in a few day's time.

Borek Bernard March 3, 2012

Worked flawlessly

0 votes
MattS
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 20, 2012

I'd do this via an XML backup not an SQL dump I think. It's a reasonable gamble.

0 votes
Andy Brook [Plugin People]
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
February 20, 2012

There is no upgrade path. RC's are not production ready, it's made quite clear that they are to be used at your own risk. It might work, you may be lucky. RC3 is current...

http://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/EAP+Releases

• EAP Releases are Not Safe— EAP releases are snapshots of the ongoing JIRA development process. As such:
    • While we try to keep these releases stable, they have not undergone the same degree of testing as a full release.