Updating a custom field by +1 everytime issue is reopened

Bhupesh Nagda July 16, 2014

Hi,

I am using behaviour plugin to update value of a custom field everytime a issue is reopened.. I am using the below code but no luck!!..Can anyone pls help

<config use-validator-plugin="false" name="Reopen Counter behaviour" description="" guideWorkflow="Test">

<field id="customfield_12051" required="null" readonly="false" hidden="false" validator-class="" validator-script="import com.onresolve.jira.groovy.user.FormField

FormField formUserField = getFieldByName("ReopenCounter")

formUserField.setFormValue(Integer.valueOf(formUserField.getFormValue()) + 1)
" validator-method="">

<when action="3"/>

</field>

</config>

I am new to using this plugin so pls enlighten on mistakes if any or if I am missing something!!
Thanks

3 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Christian Czaia _Decadis AG_
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 17, 2014

Hey,

I know that this isn't really answering your question but I think you're better off using for example the script runner to inject a script which is increasing the field value by one as a post-function.

https://marketplace.atlassian.com/plugins/com.onresolve.jira.groovy.groovyrunner

You don't need to update the field in real-time and that's the benefit of the behaviours plugin...

You could also think of the Misc Workflow Extensions Addon:

https://marketplace.atlassian.com/plugins/com.innovalog.jmwe.jira-misc-workflow-extensions

I know that it's not free anymore but if offers all kinds of useful post-functions such as "increasing the value of a field":

https://innovalog.atlassian.net/wiki/display/JMWE/Post-functions#Post-functions-4-IncreasevalueoffieldFunction

Cheers

Christian

JamieA
Rising Star
Rising Star