• Give kudos
  • Received
  • Given

Leaderboard

• Global

Trophy case

Kudos (beta program)

Kudos logo

You've been invited into the Kudos (beta program) private group. Chat with others in the program, or give feedback to Atlassian.

View group

It's not the same without you

Join the community to find out what other Atlassian users are discussing, debating and creating.

Atlassian Community Hero Image Collage

Updating Epic assignee with current sub-task assagnee

I created a rule that will trigger email reminder after an issue isn't updated for 7 days but when I test it it looks at the assignee name and I'd rather have it checking assignee of current sub-task in process. Not sure if the Epic assignee can automatically be updated with the assignee of the running sub-task or rather try to somehow filter out the subtask assignee. It would also be really good if an email gets sent as to next sub-task assignee as soon as the previous one is marked done. I'm fairly new to jira workflows so possibly this is somehow available right out the box but I just can't see it.

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted

So, if I correctly understand the requirements:

• IF parent issue not updated in last 7 days
  • AND subtask status = IN PROCESS
  • THEN send a notification to... the subtask assignee?

With these assumptions:

• Only one subtask will ever been IN PROCESS at a time.
  • If there are more than one subtasks IN PROCESS, then the assignee for each of those will receive a notification.

If that's the case, then I think something like this should work: Screen Shot 2021-01-23 at 3.44.08 PM.png

Now, I'm a little concerned that checking the Epic for updates may not be what you want.