Team - Please provide overall insight into my thinking and direction - I am new to JIRA

Richard Pugh July 18, 2017

Team goal - replace current inhouse ticketing system and introduce PM methodology

I read all the documentation online for CORE, Software and Service Desk and I mean every page...

Based on my understanding, I plan to:

1.  replace current in house ticketing system with JIRA service desk...seems straight forward

2. As the PM's we want to use the agile/scrum boards to provide management reporting of the tickets from the service desk and a better way for us to manage ticekts through burn-down etc...So we plan to utilize Software

3. The first question is to get the tickets from the service desk to software, is my only option to LINK tickets and if so, do we have to LINK every ticket indiviudally or is there a process that can port tickets over to Software? Do the status LINK, when a ticket is closed in Service desk does it close in Software or do we have to manually manage the tickets once in Service Desk?

4. Lastly, I am still trying to determine the ascertainable difference between CORE and Software. Why would I use one or the other?

Thank you so much in advance for your feedback

2 answers

0 votes
Thomas Buchhorn
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
July 18, 2017

I do not have Service Desk so I can not answer those questions.

About Question 4.

Jira Core provides basic features like workflows, issue browsing and editing, and other project features, just with a simplified view for non-technical users

Jira Software is Jira Core + Agile Tools.

Agile Tools = Kanban, Scrum Boards, Provide links in tickets to development tools like Fisheye (code changes) , Bitbucket (Git Source code Repository), Bamboo (deployment server), etc.

So basically tools which software developer needs.