Should "Browse Users" permission allow me to list all users in a group using the REST API? If not, what permission do I need?

Abraham Sultan May 21, 2015

I'm trying to use the REST API to list all users from a group and if I'm logged in as an administrator I can use this endpoint and it lists the info that I want:

/rest/api/2/group?groupname=my-group-name&expand=users

However if I try to use this endpoint as a user that only has the "Browse Users" permission I get an authorization error:

{"errorMessages":["You are not authorized to perform this action. Administrator privileges are required."],"errors":{}}

Based on the documentation it seems like that permission should be all that I need but I must be missing something:

Browse Users

Ability to select a user or group from a popup window as well as the ability to use the 'share' issues feature. Users with this permission will also be able to see names of all users and groups in the system.

My question is: Should I be using a different endpoint to list this information? Is the only way to list this info giving administrator access to the rest API user ? Any other ideas I can try?

Thanks in advanced,

Abe

4 answers

1 accepted

1 vote
Answer accepted
Stephen Deutsch
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 21, 2015

I'm not sure if there are any other options, but in the documentation, that function is listed as requiring admin privileges:

https://developer.atlassian.com/static/connect/docs/latest/scopes/jira-rest-scopes.html#restapiversiongroup

0 votes
Matheus Fernandes
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
May 21, 2015

You are probably looking for https://docs.atlassian.com/jira/REST/latest/#d2e160 :

/rest/api/2/groupuserpicker