Setting user/group permissions on a custom field in JIRA

Anton Marinov May 23, 2012

Hi Atlassian Support team,

I have a question regarding some JIRA functionality and was hoping you could help me.

Is it possible in JIRA to set up permissions, so that I can have a Group or list of users only that can edit a Custom Field value. We have a custom field, called Work Bucket, and I would like to set it so that only the PMO group in our JIRA instance can set the value in this field. Or it can even be so that only this Group can see the field, whatever is possible.

Can you help me understand if any of the above is possible and how do I do that?

I tried this page:

http://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA050/Configuring+Issue-level+Security

But it does not seem to address the above needs.

Thank you in advance for your help.

6 answers

1 vote
Gopala krishna May 6, 2019

Hi All,

I am new to JIRA, and i'm using JIRA Cloud and i want to know about the field level security for different users.

Is it possible in JIRA Cloud??. Thanks in advance.

Thanks,

gopala krishna.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
May 7, 2019

There is no "field level security" in Jira.

You can control editing to an extent, by making "edit field X" a workflow action instead of an edit (and adding conditions to the transitions you add for it), but you can't hide a field at all.

On server, the Quisapps field security app is the best solution, although Scriptrunner behaviours can hide stuff too (if you don't mind it coming out in the raw html and just being hidden by the browser - the users can override that if they want).  You do not have those options on Cloud.

Like # people like this
Takafumi Ohtake -Ricksoft-
Marketplace Partner