Set JIRA Agile Estimate on issue creation?

I'm wondering if it is possible to set the Agile Estimate on issue creation.  Our Web Team uses t-shirt sizes but JIRA Agile needs numeric values for calculations, so my thought was to do the conversion in Groovy.  

1 answer

1 accepted

0 votes
Accepted answer

That's exactly what I'd do - write a post-function script that does a simple "case (t-shirt size), set estimate appropriately"  (I'd leave the estimate off the create screen so the users do not enter it initially only to have it overwritten by the post-function)

Thanks for the quick response Nic.  I am brand new to scripting in JIRA so I'm not entirely confident on where the Estimate lives.  Is it the same as greenhopper.jira.fields.OriginalEstimate?

Also, the user enters in the t-shirt size into a customer Story Points fields, so my plan is to read that value and then set the Estimate appropriately.  I feel confident that I'll find my custom field in com.atlassian.jira.issue.customfields

To set the estimate, I'd just use issue.setOriginalEstimate(x) (I can't remember what X's units are - seconds or milliseconds) To get the Story points field (it's still a custom field, even though Agile does clever stuff with it), I'd use the code from Jamie's docs (just to save you working it out from scratch) - https://jamieechlin.atlassian.net/wiki/display/GRV/Post+Functions+With+Comments#PostFunctionsWithComments-Copyonefieldtoanotherusingregexp

Great. Thanks so much for your help!

Suggest an answer

Community showcase
Published Nov 27, 2018 in Portfolio for Jira

Introducing a new planning experience in Portfolio for Jira (Server/DC)

In the past, Portfolio for Jira required a high degree of detail–foresight that was unrealistic for many businesses to   have–in   order to produce a reliable long-term roadmap. We're tur...

2,711 views 17 21
Read article

Atlassian User Groups

Connect with like-minded Atlassian users at free events near you!

Find a group