Scriptrunner - add user from custom field (user picker) to watchers

Maya_Chase August 28, 2017

Hi, I'm very new to Scriptrunner, and I need help! I want to grab the user from a custom field (Business Analyst) and add them to Watchers. I cobbled together a script from a couple of other similar questions here, took out what it looked like I didn't need (and maybe took out too much!), and came up with this:

import com.atlassian.jira.issue.CustomFieldManager;
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.fields.CustomField;
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.Issue;
import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor;

def cf1 = customFieldManager.getCustomFieldObjectByName("Business Analyst");
def userid = issue.getCustomFieldValue(cf1);
def watcherManager = ComponentAccessor.getWatcherManager();
def userManager = ComponentAccessor.getUserManager();
def user = userManager.getUserObject("userid");

if (user) watcherManager.startWatching(user, issue.genericValue);

On the last line, I get the error [Static type checking] - Cannot find matching method com.atlassian.jira.issue.watchers.WatcherManager#startWatching(com.atlassian.jira.org.ofbiz.core.entity.GenericValue). Please check if the declared type is right and if the method exists.

If someone could help me straighten this out, I would really appreciate it.

1 answer

1 accepted

2 votes
Answer accepted
MoroSystems Support
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 28, 2017

Hello Maya,

javadoc for WarcherManager says 

startWatching(ApplicationUser user, Issue issue)

Have you tried to write last line as

if (user) watcherManager.startWatching(user, issue);

?

Milos 

That got rid of the error, but it didn't actually add the Business Analyst to the watchers. :(

Running the script gave me this: