Scriptrunner (Jira Cloud) transition cloned Issue when cloned by Issue, is transitioned

Romel April 1, 2021

Requirement: When a new issue is created in Project A,  I want to create a clone in Project B ( all ready accomplished) I'm facing challenges transitioning the cloned issue along with the parent issue (cloned by). for e.g. when the parent issue (cloned by) in Project A transitions from one status to another,  I want the cloned issue in project B to transition along with it as well, so its outward link direction.  

I'm still learning groovy and found this script but its for the inward link direction clones --> cloned by. 

https://bitbucket.org/snippets/Adaptavist/8exo75/script-console-transition-an-issue-when

Note: The cloned issue is just a place holder in  project B and wont be acted upon and should just transition along with the parent (cloned by) issue in project A. Also, both projects share the same workflow, so having different statuses wont be a problem

I even tried doing this with Jira automation but looks like I need to write rules for each transition and cannot be accomplished with just one rule (If-else).

Any help in the regard is highly appreciated.

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Romel April 1, 2021

@Juan Manuel Ibarra appreciate your response. I tried the exact same thing but got an error:

Action details:

Transition issue

Destination status could not be resolved. If using a smart-value ensure this resolves to a numeric status ID or untranslated name for issues (with current status):

Juan Manuel Ibarra
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
April 2, 2021