Scripted Field to get percent complete based on estimates of subtasks

Alex Christensen
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
September 16, 2015

I'm trying to create a scripted field on a parent task that gives me a percentage of the work completed based on the Time Spent and Remaining Estimate fields of the sub-tasks associated with that parent tasks. For example:

• Parent Task
    • Sub-Task 1
      • Logged: 2h
      • Remaining: 0h
    • Sub-Task 2
      • Logged: 2h
      • Remaining: 0h
    • Sub-Task 3
      • Logged: 1h
      • Remaining: 1h

The percentage of work completed in this case would be 83.3%. I want this number to appear on the parent task.

I've created a scripted field to calculate this, but I'm having issues pulling the information I want. Please note that I'm very new to coding in general, so I've built this by combining and toying with multiple examples I've found online. Here's what I have so far:

import com.atlassian.jira.ComponentManager
import com.atlassian.jira.issue.Issue
import org.apache.log4j.Category
import com.atlassian.jira.config.SubTaskManager

SubTaskManager subTaskManager = ComponentManager.getInstance().getSubTaskManager();
Collection subTasks = issue.getSubTasks()
Double timeSpentTotal = 0
Double remainingEstimate = 0

if (subTaskManager.subTasksEnabled && !subTasks.empty) {
    subTasks.each {
        timeSpentTotal += it.getTimeSpent()
		// used .getTimeSpent because issue.getTimeSpent() works to retrieve Logged hours, but doesn't seem to work for subtasks
        remainingEstimate += it.estimate 
		// used .estimate because issue.estimate works to retrieve the remaining estimate, but doesn't seem to work for subtasks
        }
    }
Double progress = ( timeSpentTotal / ( timeSpentTotal + remainingEstimate ) ) * 100
return progress