Scripted Field to copy latest comment

Kathryn Allison January 6, 2014

Hey all,

I need to create a scripted field [free text] that will copy the last comment made to a ticket whenever comments are made.

Any ideas?

Thanks in advanced :)

4 answers

1 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
Kathryn Allison January 7, 2014

Added.body and got what I needed.

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

def commentManager = ComponentAccessor.getCommentManager()

def comments = commentManager.getComments(issue)

if (comments) {

comments.last().body

}

mahmoud atout January 25, 2015

thx for the code it is working but now I am trying to reverse it so the comments section can copy the custom field... sorry for the question but i am a newbie thx

Carol Jones March 11, 2016

@Kathryn Allison, @Henning Tietgens (or anyone smile) – do you know if there's a way to show this new scripted field in wiki markup?  Some of our users have been using wiki markup within their comments and this new field is awesome as it allows us not have open each ticket to view the comments.  However it's displaying the raw text, not sure if that can be configurable/scripted or not as my searches aren't coming up with much.  TIA!

Joshua DeClerck July 25, 2017

@Carol Jones2 

I just managed to get this working based on frankensteining various other scripts here and there. Since this discussion is still on the first page of google results for searches on this topic, I'll add a comment here. Have a look at the current state of my scripted field:

import com.atlassian.jira.component.ComponentAccessor

def user = ComponentAccessor.jiraAuthenticationContext.getLoggedInUser()
def commentManager = ComponentAccessor.getCommentManager()
def rendererManager = ComponentAccessor.getRendererManager()
def comments = commentManager.getCommentsForUser(issue, user)

if (comments) {
rendererManager.getRenderedContent("atlassian-wiki-renderer", comments.last().body, issue.issueRenderContext)
}