Script to replace Summary Field

Deleted user August 12, 2013

I would like to know if there is a script so that I can replace the Summary field with two custom fields that the user fills in.

Scenario; user fills in the Issue Create form, and two of the custom fields (CF1 and CF2) now have data in them.

I would then like the script to run as a post function which then updates the Summary field with "CF1 relies on CF2" (for example)

Is this possible?

5 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nadir MEZIANI
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 12, 2013

Hi,

You can do it with javascript or with JJUPIN.

I thought you might be able to, but I have no scripting knowledge, so I was hoping someone would be able to help me write the script.

Nadir MEZIANI
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
August 12, 2013

Hi,

In the configuration customfield issue type scheme, put this script in the description summary field to hide it (summary field )

<script type="text/javascript">

var summuryField=AJS.$("#summary").parent();

summuryField.hide();

</script>

And in the configuration customfield issue type scheme, put this script in the description of one of your custom field

For example ids of your custom fields are like this

CF1 id = customfield_xxxxx
CF2 id = customfield_yyyyy

We put this script in the description of CF2

AJS.$('#customfield_xxxxx').keypress(function(){AJS.$('#summary').val(AJS.$("#customfield_xxxxx").val() + AJS.$("customfield_yyyyy ").val());})

</script>

This didn't work because the Summary field is set to Required, and I can't seem to un-required it.

Nadir MEZIANI
Rising Star
Rising Star
August 12, 2013

Hi,