Restarting JIRA issue count

AJ Kakar January 11, 2018

This is my first time using JIRA so I was testing out the different issues you can create and etc. After creating the issues I went ahead and deleted them to create other new issues in align with the project. The problem I am having is that the issue count is starting off from the last issue (DS10) instead of DS1. The count didnt reset after deletion of the test issues.

Could someone please walk me through resting the count? I saw few post on SQL queseries to reset the count but I am still very confuses on where to plug these queries in. I am not a global admin in JIRA if that changes anything.

3 answers

1 accepted

4 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
January 11, 2018

You can't do this in the UI, you have to either code something (script) or amend the database directly.SQL is probably the quickest and easiest approach, and it's one of the few relatively safe things to do in a Jira database.

Andy Heinzer
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 11, 2018

If you're using Jira Cloud, you don't have a means to access the SQL database at all. 

However if you are using Jira Server, it might be possible to hack at the database to adjust this as described in the KB How to reset the project counter after moving issues.

Like # people like this
AJ Kakar January 11, 2018

thank you both for the quick responses and yes I am currently on the JIRA cloud service. So I guess the only option would be to deleting the project and restarting. 

2 votes
Jan Szczepanski
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.