Resolution field does not update when create an issue ondemand

kA September 23, 2013

hi guys,

i am new to jira. i am create a workflow like when the transition starts it will be closed and the Resolution filed set into Resolved. After the transition, the project gets the strike out but the Resolution field does not set into Resolved.For that i am adding the Post Function but it is not works and also i am trying through the screen it is also not works. so kindly provide me the solution if anyone knows.

Thanks in advance,

Karthik.

12 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
RambanamP
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
September 23, 2013

the following way you can configure postfunction on create issue transition

1.Go to Administration > Workflows

2.Click the link for the workflow in 'Steps' column

3.Click 'Open/New' link in the Step Name column

4.Click 'Create Issue' link in the Workflow browser (the inbound transition that arrives into the Open step)

5.Add a post-function, 'Update Issue Field', and set the Resolution field to desired Value (if necessary, create a draft so the workflow is editable)

Make sure the Post-function is the first step in the list

3 votes
Pedro Cora
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
September 23, 2013

Setting the resolution on the issue create is a special case detailed on the Advanced Workflow Configuration:

If you need to set the Resolution field when creating an issue, add the Update Issue Field post function after the Creates the issue originally post function and after that, use the Store Issue post function. The Store Issue post function is useful for setting the Resolutionfield during issue creation.