Required Fields That are hidden on certain screens

Tim Moore January 14, 2013

I am new to Jira so please forgive me if this question has been addressed before.

My company is in the process of evaluating Jira for our bug/agile tracking solution. We are currently using Pragmatic. I have FINALLY been able to get my Workflow/Custom Fields/Custom Screens etc set up the way I want. However, here is my current blocker...

I have custom screens set up for each status transition. On these custom screens certain custom fields are needed depending on the screen. I need the ability to have a custom field "Required" on one screen but hidden on other screens. So far what I am finding is that if I make a field "Required" then it is "Required" on ALL screens even if it is hidden.

I find it hard to believe that this is the way that Jira works. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

--
Tim Moore

SQA Manager
WSI Corporation

7 answers

1 accepted

5 votes
Answer accepted
MJ
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
January 16, 2013

Hi Tim,

Instead of configure a field as "Required" in your Field Configuration Scheme, you might want to use a workflow transition validator. This way you can configue fields to be required only on the transitions you want them to, opposed to all. The specific validator you should be looking for is "Fields Required"

Information on validators can be found here

Renjith Pillai
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
January 19, 2013
3 votes
Anthony E July 13, 2019