RTC > Jira import - certain fields

CJ E January 22, 2014

Hi,

I'm fairly new to JIRA

I am trying to Export work items from RTC out to .csv then Import the work items into JIRA via the .csv importer

I seem to be getting a lot of issues with the Estimates "Unable to Parse original Estimate: [7h 30m]"

I have tried going into the .csv file and trying different column formats, i've tried different options (hours, hour, h, mins, min, m) but no luck

I set the due date in the .csv file to 25/04/2014 14:34 and the due date that appears in JIRA in 25/Jan/14

Does anyone know a way around these issues?

4 answers

0 votes
CJ E February 4, 2014

Yes they do, but it becomes a bit more difficult when you have "h" and "m" in the cells.

I was kind of angling at a simple way of doing this without having to write functions and scripts, tools like RTC don't require you to do anything like this. It looks as though there isn't so i will have to look at my options

thanks all for the replies

0 votes
CJ E February 4, 2014

Hi,

Thanks for your reply,

i am slightly confused how, if i create a issue in JIRA it says to type it in as example "3w 4d 12h" which is the format i have in my .csv file ready to import, although in order to import it into JIRA i have to tailor my .csv file to milliseconds. I have to be honest i have no clue how to convert this to milliseconds.

Surely other users have migrated RTC work items to JIRA? So surely there must be some sort of method/process

Any help on this is hugely appreciated, i need to come to a decision whether we can migrate the work items or not, if we can't it may be a blocker for a large number of our users

Regards

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 4, 2014