Purge/ Remove old issues with attachments and comments from JIRA and DB

Bureera Sabir February 25, 2014

Dear All,

I am using 4.4.2 version of JIRA with 8 projects and 1121537 issues 89168 attachments and 961438 comments in total , and i am using oracle db to store my data. As the issue size has incresed so thats degrading the performance of JIRA. I have tried Bulk edit issue this reduces issue count but attachmnets are comments value is not affected and also it doesnt make any effect on the database record and still the performance is same. I dont have JIRA CLI plugin please suggest a way to purge tickets. and alternatively If it can be done via CLI then an efficint way to do that.

I am new to jira and need assistance. your co-operation in this matter will be highly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Bureera sabir.

1 answer

0 votes
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
February 25, 2014

That doesn't sound right - when you delete an issue, the comments, attachments and history are removed. I'd be strongly rempted to check that and read the logs to see if it's struggling with any part of the deletion.

With Jira 4.4.2, older versions of the CLI should work fine if you don't want to use bulk edit. It won't do anything differently though - when you use it to delete issues, all it does is call the same routines bulk edit uses.

On a more generalised note, size of data is only one thing that affects performance, and you might actually have more luck doing some tuning instead. There are far larger Jira installations out there running fine. I'd start with a look at upgrading - 5.1 is significantly better with large data sets than 4.4 for a start.

For more detail, I'd refer you to