Problems getting Jira Plugin tutorial to work with Jira v4

Paul Richards November 4, 2013

The goal

I am a beginner with Jira/Maven and am trying to learn how to create Jira plugins. I'm working with the tutorial.

I find it works (when I run atlas-debug) and the jira.version element in the POM is set to 6.1.1 or 6.0.1. However, I want to get the tab panel example working with Jira version 4.4.5.

Jar file woes

At first I had problems with missing jars: com.sun.jdmk:jmxtools:jar:1.2.1 and com.sun.jmx:jmxri:jar:1.2.1. I tried various methods to overcome this, but: installing the JARs via mvn didn't work, and adding a dependency and repositories element to my POM didn't work.

Eventually I got the error to go away by adding:

<exclusions> <exclusion> <groupId>com.sun.jdmk</groupId> <artifactId>jmxtools</artifactId> </exclusion> <exclusion> <groupId>com.sun.jmx</groupId> <artifactId>jmxri</artifactId> </exclusion> </exclusions> 

... to all of the dependencies in my POM. I've done it to all of them because I'm not sure which one of them is causing the error. The dependencies I have are:

• com.atlassian.jira
  • junit
  • com.atlassian.plugins
  • javax.ws.rs
  • com.google.code.gson
  • org.slf4j
  • org.mockito

I tried just including the exclusions element inside org.slf4j but the error was still there. Does anyone know which dependency/dependencies that depend on these jars?

POM Jira version doesn't seem to change which Jira version starts

When I finally did get it to work (as above), I find it starts JIRA v6.1.1 !

I don't understand this, as my POM file says:

<properties> <jira.version>4.4.5</jira.version> <amps.version>4.2.10</amps.version> <plugin.testrunner.version>1.1.2</plugin.testrunner.version> <!-- TestKit version 5.x for JIRA 5.x, 6.x for JIRA 6.x --> <testkit.version>5.2.26</testkit.version> </properties> 

How can I get this tutorial to work with Jira version 4.4.5?

3 answers

1 vote
RambanamP
Rising Star
Rising Star