Please explain how JIRA Service Desk and JIRA Software interact?

Sam Hall
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
October 20, 2015

I'm trying to work out how to explain the situation with a client that currently has JIRA + Agile + Service Desk. My understanding is that it's assumed that we will migrate this instance to JIRA Software and then it's up to us to also then purchase JIRA Service Desk to fill the gap left by removing the plugin.

I have never used the Service Desk plugin before so I don't know how it works. Will the two products still interact with one another now that JIRA Service Desk is a standalone product? Or do these users need to connect to two totally different products now depending on which features they need at the time. I'm totally lost and the documentation doesn't seem to help... https://confluence.atlassian.com/migration/jira-7/cloud_jira+agile+jsd_product-changes

2 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
October 20, 2015

Ah, it's not quite "standalone software".  JIRA Service Desk and JIRA Software are both "applications".  They both run on the framework provided by JIRA Core.  There are three downloads available to make things easier for us (JIRA Software, JIRA Service Desk and JIRA Core), but you can use any one of those three as a base for the others.