Notification for a custom user picker field change

Kathy Tempesta May 14, 2013

I have a custom user picker field for Tester and I want to send a notification to the person in that field when it is added for the first time or changed. Since there's no specific workflow event associated with the change (I don't want to spam them using Issue Updated) I'm wondering if there's a way to do this. I'm an administrator not a developer so I would prefer a solution that didn't involve scripting. Is it possible?

Thanks,

Kathy

4 answers

0 votes
Kathy Tempesta May 21, 2013

Today I discovered there are Listeners and then there are Script Listeners. Since I wasn't getting anywhere with plain vanilla Listeners, I decided to give Script Listeners a try. I added a new one on Issue Updated with this condition:

changeItems.any {

it.get('field') == cfValues['Tester']

}

I cobbled that together from a couple of examples. Sadly it isn't working.

Does ayone know the correct syntax capture a change in a custom field?

0 votes
Udo Brand
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 14, 2013

You could create transitions (each from current step to current step) and using a screen where this field is set (remove it from the edit screen as well). Then fire in these transitions your own event and add it to your notification scheme.

Udo Brand
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 14, 2013

And add a validator to these transitions that the field got changed. Otherwise it would make no sense.

I considered this option too but my workflow is already complex enough that I'm hoping to avoid adding any more steps.

0 votes
Jobin Kuruvilla [Adaptavist]
Rising Star