New Custom Field Type based on the System Field "Description"

Russ April 3, 2013

Hello folks,

One of the things I've been looking to do is expose the custom field type 'Text Field, Unlimited' in a much nicer way within Issue Types.

When you create a new issue, Description is a nicely exposed text field, easy to view and display content within. When you use the Custom Field type Text (unlimited) it presents itself at the top of the issue as a small single line collapsable item.

Essentially, this field type is useless to me as it doesn't expose the data in a way that I feel is beneficial. I can think of a number of applications for this, but right now I'd simply like to find out the right direction for adding a new Custom Field Type (have reviewed developers documentation on this so understand the principle, but I'm not a developer) that will display within an issue the same way Description does.

Could somebody help me out with this please?

Thanks,

Russ

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 16, 2013

Ok, the screenshot does make it more clear.

I don't see a lot of difference between Description and Custom text though. The main thing is that the title for custom fields lies alongside the box, whereas for Description, it's above. That's a function of the type of field - Description is rendered totally separately from the custom fields and that bit is handled by core code.