• Community
  • Products
  • Jira
  • Questions
  • Need help setting up two Kanban boards for one project: One to manage backlog, and one to manage active development.

Need help setting up two Kanban boards for one project: One to manage backlog, and one to manage active development.

I am new to Jira and I need helping setting up a Kanban environment to manage (1) active development, and (2) backlogged issues.

I want to use Jira to track our software development project.

I have set up a project to track the issues.

I have two boards for the project, one to track active development, and one to manage the backlog.

To manage active development, I started with the default Kanban board and made the following changes:

-          Changed the statuses from the default “Backlog > Selected For Development > In Progress > Done” to “Backlog > Selected For Development > Design > Design Review > Dev > Dev Review > QA > UAT > Done”.

-          Removed status “Backlog” from the active development board because we do not want to see the long list of backlogged issues on the active development board.

To manage the backlogged issues, I created a second board called “Planning”, based on the default Kanban board, and made the following changes:

-          Changed the statuses from the default “Backlog > Selected For Development > In Progress > Done” to “Backlog > Selected For Development”.

“Selected For Development” is the common status on both boards.

This set up seems to work okay.  For example, when I move a backlogged issue on the Planning board from “Backlog” to “Selected For Development”, it will start appearing on the Development board.

Problem:

-          On the Planning board there is a “Release” button.  When I press this button, it will release issues in the “Selected For Development” status.  This doesn’t seem right.  Is this a bug?  Is there any way to remove the release button from the Planning board?

2 answers

1 accepted

Accepted Answer
2 votes