Manage Sprints permission - Question

kumar sam October 20, 2017

Hi

I am getting this message when I try to close sprint. 

You need the Manage Sprints permission for all projects in the origin board to manage this sprint.

I have Sprint manager and lead roles in the project.

Permission scheme that this project uses is shared by many projects and I am not lead for other projects.

Can you please let me know how to resolve this issue.

Using Jira 7.1

Thanks

Kumar

2 answers

3 votes
steve whittle March 15, 2018

I am a newbie to using JIRA and created 3 different Kanban boards while experimenting - trying to come up with the final one our team would use. Two weeks into our first sprint, I also became victim to the greyed out "Create sprint" button when I wanted to close it and start sprint 2. My case is likely not the usual root cause but was interesting to resolve none-the-less.

Confused as to why I could not close sprint 1, I double-checked to make sure that all tasks and (especially) subtasks were either complete or otherwise removed from the sprint - and double-checked my permissions as well as the query behind my Kanban board. All was fine and I was stumped - so I made another user an administrator, project admin etc. and sure enough he was able to see the active "Close sprint" button on our Kanban board.  That was weird.

After a few minutes of reflection - I remembered that I still had some old draft boards (ones I hadn't shared with the rest of the project members since I was just using them to evolve to my final board) which used the same task issue data.