Label-like field in an add-on

Arturas Rimkus April 4, 2016

I'd like to use a field type that the default Label functionality uses in JIRA. It's a type-to-search, multiple selection/tag field. However, I haven't succeeded in find it in any Atlassian documentation.

Actually, it's just like the tags field under my question.

Can someone please point me to it?

2 answers

0 votes
Robert Massaioli _Atlassian_
Atlassian Team
Atlassian Team members are employees working across the company in a wide variety of roles.
April 5, 2016

It sounds like you could be trying to perform one of many operations:

Depending on which one you are trying to do (and how you are trying to do it) our answers will change. For example, are you trying to get an Atlassian Connect add-on to do this?

The more information that you can provide us with the better. Cheers.

Arturas Rimkus April 5, 2016

Hi Robert. Since I'm new to JIRA add-ons, I THINK that option 3 from your list is what I'm after. What I want to do is add a labels-like field in a web section on an Issue screen, but have that field display my data (a new property for the Issue object that I will create). And yes, I want to achieve this with an Atlassian Connect add-on.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 5, 2016

Ah, ok, so I really wasn't getting that from the question.

Yes, you want option three from Robert's list.  The question I still have is "what's wrong with the existing field types"?

Maybe a simpler question would be, what field type is the labels field? Because I want the same functionality.

Nic Brough -Adaptavist-
Community Leader
Community Leader
Community Leaders are connectors, ambassadors, and mentors. On the online community, they serve as thought leaders, product experts, and moderators.
April 5, 2016