Jira "Projects" droplist on top toolbar shows "You are not authorized to pe this operation"

Scott Kullman May 2, 2013

Jira Projects droplist shows "You are not authorized to pe this operation" even if I'm an administrator. Clicking again shows "View All projects" but clicking it takes me to:

Error You are not logged in and do not have the permissions required to browse projects as a guest.

To browse projects, first log in

----If I login here, I get into the project just fine. How do I avoid the extra steps?

3 answers

1 accepted

0 votes
Answer accepted
Ramiro Pointis
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 2, 2013

Hi Scott it does something like this:

https://confluence.atlassian.com/display/JIRA/Configuring+Secure+Administrator+Sessions

Check your jira-config.properties file in the jira.websudo.timeout property how much is configured.

0 votes

If you click always remember me on this computer, then this doesn't happen.

0 votes
Bhushan Nagaraj
Rising Star
Rising Star
Rising Stars are recognized for providing high-quality answers to other users. Rising Stars receive a certificate of achievement and are on the path to becoming Community Leaders.
May 2, 2013

Hey Scott,

Is this an OnDemand instance or Download instance?

Looks like you need to fix your project permission schemes. Check all your permission schemes and make sure "Browse Project" has some role or group associated with it.

Download instance. Right now I gave every group Browse Project permission. It works after I login the 2nd time. First time into the System Dashboard. 2nd time to get me to a project. Why is that?

Bhushan Nagaraj
Rising Star
Rising Star
May 2, 2013

Do you want users who are not logged in to JIRA to also Browse your projects?

If yes, in project permissions add group "Anyone".